Deadline: December 1, 2024
Special Interests: student



Supported by the Kennedy Center Education Department, The Lorraine Hansberry Playwriting Award, initiated in 1977, is part of the Michael KaninPlaywriting Awards Program. The Lorraine Hansberry Playwriting Award is presented in the memory of the distinguished dramatist for the outstanding KCACTF student-written plays on the subject of the African-American experience. Hansberry was the first African-American playwright, and the youngest of any color, to win the New York Drama Critics Award for her drama, A Raisin in the Sun, which opened on Broadway in 1959.  Lorraine Hansberry died in 1965 of cancer, at age thirty-four, at the peak of her career.

The Lorraine Hansberry Awards recognize the outstanding plays written by students of African or Diasporan descent that best express the African American experience.

*  The first place award of $2,500 and a fellowship to attend the O’Neill National Playwrights’ Conference.

* Dramatists Guild Award.  The Dramatists Guild Award provides the playwright with Active membership in the Guild.

*  Dramatic Publishing Company may present the first-place winning playwright with an offer of a contract to publish, license, and market the winning play.

*  The second place award is a cash prize of $1,000.

Comments from NMI Staff:

As of now, we are updating submissions for Dec 2024, but there is no official word on this yet.

CONTACT NAME: Susan Shaffer
CONTACT PHONE: 202.416.8857
        The Lorraine Hansberry Playwriting Award
        Susan Shaffer
        The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
        Washington, DC 20566-0001
                                                                                                                                                                   BACK TO LISTINGS