Deadline: November 1, 2024
Special Interests: women


The American Theatre Critics Association’s Francesca Primus Prize is an annual $10,000 award honoring outstanding contribuitions to the American theater by an emerging female playwright, one who has not yet achieved national prominance.
The Primus Prize operates on an open submission basis – an applicant may submit herself or be nominated by another individual or organization. Members of ATCA are eligible to nominate or provide letters of recommendation.

To qualify for consideration in 2020-21 (see note below), a playwright must have had a fully staged, professional production of her script within the calendar years 2018 and 2019. The committee also considers a body of work going back several years.

Comments from NMI Staff:

Due to the pandemic, prize years 2020 and 2021 (covering plays that premiered in 2019 and 2020) have been conflated, with an application deadline of November 1, 2021. Plays already submitted for 2020 are automatically included.

They still have not updated their website as of 1/30/23

CONTACT NAME: Robert Sokol
CONTACT PHONE: 602.956.2310
        Francesca Primus Prize
        Robert Sokol
        773 Nebraska Ave. W.,
        St. Paul, MN 55117
                                                                                                                                                                   BACK TO LISTINGS