Deadline: February 1, 2025
Special Interests: women



The Jane Chambers Playwriting Award recognizes plays and performance texts created by women that present a feminist perspective and contain significant opportunities for female performers. This annual award is given in memory of lesbian playwright Jane Chambers who, through her plays A Late Snow, Last Summer at Bluefish Cove, My Blue Heaven, Kudzu, and The Quintessential Image, became a major feminist voice in American theatre. For questions or concerns, contact Vice President for Awards Jocelyn L. Buckner.The awardee will receive an award of 1k from the WTP Program, and, from ATHE $500 towards travel expenses (reimbursement), in addition to conference registration and two nights in the conference hotel.

Comments from NMI Staff:

Nomination Submission Deadline: February 1, 2021

Submissions for 2023 ended February 1, 2023; I put the deadline for 2024.

Submissions ended February for 2024, put deadline for 2025.

CONTACT NAME: Jennifer-Scott Mobley
CONTACT PHONE: 202.687.1327
        Jane Chambers Playwriting Award
        Jennifer-Scott Mobley
        East Carolina University School of Theatre and Dance
        Messick Building Mail Stop 553
        Greenville, NC 27858-4353
                                                                                                                                                                   BACK TO LISTINGS