Special Interests: English, theater, women
Accepts Submissions of: Musicals /



The Susan Smith Blackburn Prize, established in 1978, is given annually to recognize women who have written works of outstanding quality for the English-speaking theatre. The Prize is administered in Houston, London and New York by a board of directors who choose six Judges each year, three from each side of the Atlantic. The Prize currently awards $70,000 annually to the Finalists:Winner- $25,000, Special Commendation-$10,000, and other Finalists- $5,000. Finalists are the top ten plays. In addition, the Winner receives a signed and numbered Willem de Kooning print made especially for the award. The Special Commendation is given at the discretion of the Judges. Each year, a specified list of professional theatres throughout the English-speaking world is invited to submit plays for consideration. Plays are received in September, and the award ceremony is held in February or March. Plays must be full-length. Plays are eligible whether or not they have been produced, but any premiere production must have occurred within the preceding calendar year. Previous winners are not eligible. Scripts receive multiple readings by an international reading committee, resulting in the selection of 10 Finalists. All six judges for the Prize read every Finalist.

Comments from NMI Staff:

The deadline for 2022 has passed, so we must wait until they update their website. 

CONTACT NAME: Susan Smith Blackburn
        Susan Smith Blackburn Prize
        Susan Smith Blackburn
        3239 Avalon Pl.
        Houston, TX 77019
                                                                                                                                                                   BACK TO LISTINGS